Key academic dates

The Calendar of Academic Dates 2017-18?was originally approved by Senate in May, 2014.?This?page contains the dates around which all other academic activities are built; however, the information on this page is not comprehensive.

For specific dates and deadlines, such as registration dates, application deadlines or convocation dates, please use this site's?search tool.


Fall 2017

  • Classes begin Tuesday, September 5 (except for Dentistry and Medicine students – please see faculty schedules)
  • Add/Drop deadline Tuesday, September 19
  • Course or University Withdrawal with refund deadline Tuesday, September 26
  • Course or University Withdrawal with NO REFUND deadline Tuesday, October 31
  • Classes end Thursday, December 7*
  • Study Days Weekend, December 9-10
  • Exams begin Friday, December 8
  • Exams end Thursday, December?21?(10 days, including evening exams)

* On Thursday, December 7, the normal?Thursday schedule of course lectures, labs and conferences?will be replaced by a Monday schedule.? To assist you in determining which courses will be taught on that day, please consult the table below.

Class start and end dates by schedule pattern

Class start and end dates vary according to the schedule pattern and on what day, if applicable,?the make-up lecture day is held.*
If your course has a
schedule pattern of:
Your first class is on: Your last class is on:
Monday (M)* Monday, Sept. 11 Thursday, Dec. 7*
Tuesday, (T) Tuesday, Sept. 5 Tuesday, Nov. 28
Wednesday (W) Wednesday, Sep. 6 Wednesday, Nov. 29
Thursday (R) Thursday, Sept. 7 Thursday, Nov. 30
Friday (F) Friday, Sept. 8 Friday, Dec. 1
Mon-Wed (MW) Wednesday, Sept. 6 Wednesday, Dec. 6
Mon-Wed-Fri (MWF) Wednesday, Sept. 6 Wednesday, Dec. 6
Wed-Fri (WF) Wednesday, Sept. 6 Friday, Dec. 1
Tues-Thurs (TR) Tuesday, Sept. 5 Thursday, Nov. 30
Mon-Tues-Thurs (MTR) Tuesday, Sept. 5 Tuesday, Dec. 5
Tues-Thurs-Fri (TRF) Tuesday, Sept. 5 Friday, Dec. 1

The schedule patterns in this table follow the same convention as course listings in Minerva Class Schedule. Each pattern indicates the days on which a course is normally held – for example, a course with a MWF pattern is?held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

*Thursday, Dec. 7?is the make-up lecture day and will follow a Monday schedule.

Legal holidays

Administrative offices are closed on the following dates:

  • Labour Day: Monday, September 4
  • Thanksgiving: Monday, October 9
  • Holiday break: Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017?to Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018?inclusive

Library hours are available on the Library website.

?

Winter 2018

  • Classes begin Monday, January 8
  • Add/Drop deadline Tuesday, January 23
  • Course or University Withdrawal with refund deadline Tuesday, January 30
  • Course or University Withdrawal with NO REFUND deadline Tuesday, March 13
  • Study break from March?5-9?(some exceptions apply)
  • Classes end Monday, April 16
  • Study Days Weekend,?April 14-15
  • Exams begin Tuesday, April 17
  • Exams end Monday, April 30?(10 days, including evening exams)

Class start and end dates by schedule pattern

Class start and end dates vary according to the schedule pattern and on what day, if applicable,?the make-up lecture day is held.*
If your course has a
schedule pattern of:
Your first class is on: Your last class is on:
Monday (M) Monday, Jan. 8 Monday,?Apr. 16
Tuesday (T) Tuesday, Jan. 9 Tuesday, Apr. 10
Wednesday (W) Wednesday, Jan. 10 Wednesday, Apr. 11
Thursday (R) Thursday, Jan. 11 Thursday, Apr. 12
Friday (F)* Friday, Jan. 12 Friday, Apr. 13
Mon-Wed (MW) Monday, Jan. 8 Monday, Apr. 16
Mon-Wed-Fri (MWF)* Monday, Jan. 8 Monday, Apr. 16
Wed-Fri (WF)* Wednesday, Jan. 10 Friday, April 13
Tues-Thurs (TR) Tuesday, Jan. 9 Thursday, April 12
Mon-Tues-Thurs (MTR) Monday, Jan. 8 Monday, Apr. 16
Tues-Thurs-Fri (TRF)* Tuesday, Jan. 9 Friday, April 13

The schedule patterns in this table follow the same convention as course listings in Minerva Class Schedule.? Each pattern indicates the days on which a course is normally held – for example, a course with a MWF pattern is?held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

*There is no make-up lecture day scheduled this term; there is a shortfall of 1 to 3 contact hours for these schedule patterns.

Legal holidays

Administrative offices are closed on the following dates:

  • Holiday break:?Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017?to Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018?inclusive
  • New Year’s Day:?Monday, January 1
  • Good Friday: March 30
  • Easter Monday: April 2

Library hours are available?on the Library website.

?

  • 199791052 2018-01-19
  • 3841501051 2018-01-19
  • 88641050 2018-01-19
  • 2208601049 2018-01-19
  • 645661048 2018-01-19
  • 6868071047 2018-01-19
  • 5952951046 2018-01-19
  • 161941045 2018-01-19
  • 7034231044 2018-01-19
  • 2404261043 2018-01-19
  • 8542431042 2018-01-19
  • 381111041 2018-01-19
  • 2756591040 2018-01-19
  • 3998601039 2018-01-19
  • 7944111038 2018-01-18
  • 7356631037 2018-01-18
  • 9198791036 2018-01-18
  • 6797081035 2018-01-18
  • 2518051034 2018-01-18
  • 8543801033 2018-01-18